News‎ > ‎

Last race of the Summer Series

posted Mar 3, 2016, 8:29 PM by David Churchward

The last race of the Jervis Bay Cruising Yacht Club Summer Series of sailing was held last Sunday in spectacular conditions. The forecast varied from no wind in the morning to 10 knots from the northeast later in the afternoon. Fortunately the promised winds came a bit earlier than expected, allowing for the initial race course to be extended to a ‘semi’ around the Bay.

The light and somewhat variable wind at the start resulted in a couple of the Skippers getting caught out with their tactics but once the first mark was rounded most set their spinnakers for a great run south from Hare Bay to Long Nose Point. From there, the Division 1 and 3 boats continued across to Plantation Point and most were able to maintain spinnakers on that leg.

After rounding the mark set at Myola Beach, a couple of boats opted to sail as close as possible to the beach before tacking towards home in Callala Bay and were richly rewarded, particularly the catamaran Overture (Seawind 1000, Kevin and Jo Lord) who made up a huge amount of water on the rest of the fleet to cross the line 3rd in Division 3.

It was great to have a couple of trailer sailors in the race and Y-Knot (Elliot 5.8) won Division 1 on performance handicap. Friendship (Swarbrick S111, Navy yacht skippered by Wayne Prior) was in second place. Motion (Bounty 35, David and Pauline Churchward) won Division 2 on handicap with Matana in 2nd place. Division 3 saw Miz Behavin (Seawind 1000, Bill Dicker) win on handicap with SasSea (Seawind 1000XL, John and Jenny Lawrence) in 2nd place.

The Summer Series concluded with this race and the results for the season were finalised.  Division 1was won by Friendship and 2nd place went to Alexander. Both yachts are Swarbrick S111s and raced by the Navy. Division 2 was won by Motion by 1 point from Matana. Miz Behavin came in 1st in Division 3 followed by Tranquility (Alan Leach). Congratulations to all boats that competed in the Summer Series and thank you to Tahmoor Rural for generously sponsoring the series.

The next race is Sunday 12th March, the Creswell Cup, and is one of the highlights of the JBCYC racing season.