News‎ > ‎

Jervis Bay Crusing Yacht Club's Season Ends

posted May 24, 2009, 11:13 PM by JBCYC Admin   [ updated May 24, 2009, 11:16 PM ]
 by Meryl Simpson

The last race of the Paperbark Camp Autumn Series and the final races of the season were held in beautiful weather and light winds last Sunday. It was such a contrast to the rather more turbulent conditions of the preceding days. 16 yachts took part with the Forward Hand's race also being held.

The Forward Hand's race was held under the cloud of some controversary with many crew members not being paid up members of the club and therefore not eligible to collect the trophy if they were to win! This is a matter to be further addressed before the beginning of next year's racing. The committee have decided to have a real drive to encourage full membership with the inducement of rewards like a club cap and member's prize draws after each race.

The start of the race saw 4 boats being recalled as they failed to read the starter boats flag system and went off by their own timers. It was a non- spinnaker event but all crews worked hard to trim their sails in the moderate winds that sprang up early in the day. The eventual winner was Mitch Edwards on Arabesque.

The second and main race of the day commenced soon after but the breeze continued to lighten. This dampened the chances of the likes of Alan Leach of Tranquility in division 2 who was an early leader and 3 other boats who failed to finish. Mark Tobin in Cougar and Denis Godfrey in Wahoo took a while to get away from the fleet but as usual, they did! The long work up towards Long Beach certainly left  boats behind that struggle to point. The overall series winners were Davey Bennett of Sapphire Dancer in division 1 and Jim Lay of Aqua Gem in division 2. A fine effort by both skippers and their crews!

Anyone considering attending the Sailing Club presentaion dinner on June 20th at Bewong River Retreat can now pre-purchase their tickets from Peter Cowman, Tony Byrne or Ken Dryburgh at a cost of $45.

Results are as follows:

Div 1
Line Honours: Wahoo
RHS: Sapphire Dancer
PHS: Cougar

Div 2
Line Honours: Rockhopper
RHS: Rockhopper
PHS: Aqua Gem