News‎ > ‎

Jervis Bay Cruising Yacht Clubs Summer Series Decider

posted Mar 21, 2018, 3:26 AM by David Churchward

Sunday 11th March saw the running of the 5th and final round in the Jervis Bay Cruising Yacht Clubs, Tahmoor Rural Summer Series.

In calm sunny weather, a fleet of 7 yachts took to Jervis Bay and vied for both a race win, and their final place in the Clubs Summer Series.

The yachts were split into two divisions, with the 5 larger yachts in Division 1 completing a 14 nautical mile course and the 2 smaller vessels in Division 2 racing over shorter 9.5 nautical mile circuit.

The race started in light 7 knot NW winds that were beginning to swing to the NE. With the small fleet and light winds, the yachts got off to a clean start, although it was slow going to the 1st windward mark.

Sojourn 3 lead the fleet around the 1st marker headed down the bay. As they headed South, with the wind behind them, Sojourn 3 was the only Division 1 yacht not to fly a spinnaker. The Navy entry, Franklin, and the catamaran, Tranquillity gained ground on Sojourn 3 as the wind began to pick up and they headed down to Honeymoon Bay and turned across the bay racing towards Huskinson.

Sojourn 3 still lead as the yachts rounded the mark off Huskinson, heading North back to Callala Bay, with the NE winds gusting up to 17 knots. But Sojourn 3 could not match Franklin’s speed heading into the wind and Franklin made its move hauling past Sojourn 3 and taking the lead.

The NE winds started dropping to around 10 knots as Franklin crossed the finish line in 2 hours and 49 minutes, just 2 minutes ahead of Sojourn 3.

Once handicaps were applied, however, Rick Early (Sojourn 3) was declared the race winner in Division 1 with Alan Leach (Tranquillity) 2nd and Jim McDonald (Franklin) 3rd.

Division 2 was a two-yacht race between Laser 3 and Wotalife. Laser 3 revelled in the light winds at the beginning of the race and building up a substantial lead. Although the winds picked up in the later stages of the race Wotalife was not able to catch Laser 3.

The Division 2 yachts traversed a slightly smaller course than the larger vessels and Laser 3 was the 1st yacht to cross the finish line, in 2 hours 42 minutes, well ahead of Wotalife.

John Anderson (Laser 3) would maintain his lead winning Division 2 on Handicap over Denis Meredith (Wotalife) 2nd.

With the conclusion of this race the results for the Tahmoor Rural Summer Series were in. The Division 1 series winner was Jim McDonald (Franklin), Alan Leach (Tranquillity) 2nd and Rod Targa (Friendship) 3rd. Denis Meredith (Wotalife)was the series winner in Division 2 followed by Paul Gooey (Matana)2nd and John Anderson (Laser 3) 3rd.