News‎ > ‎

Jervis Bay Cruising Yacht Clubs close Spring Series Decider

posted Dec 3, 2017, 2:45 PM by David Churchward

Saturday 25th November saw the running of the 5th and final round in the Jervis Bay Cruising Yacht Clubs, Callala Bay and Culburra 1st National Real Estate Spring Series.

Intense competition in gusting 15 knot North Easterly winds lead to close racing as a field of 12 yachts vied for both a race win and their final place in the Spring Series.

Twelve yachts raced in two divisions with 8 in Division 1, which included 3 catamarans along with the larger of the monohulls.  The 4 smaller yachts competed in division 2 and covered a slightly shorter course than their larger rivals.

With the race beginning in 15 knot winds, and gusts up to 20 knots, several yachts chose to reef their main sails at the start. As the fleet raced south down Jervis Bay the winds eased, yachts removed the reefs in their sails and the small Y-Knot, even raised their spinnaker on several legs.

Relentless having found an additional turn of speed, after having the bottom of its hull cleaned and with some masterful sailing on the day, crossed the finish line 1st in 1 hour and 18 minutes taking line honours for Division 2.

The rest of the fleet began bunching together as the yachts in both divisions raced to the finish line. One of the Navy’s entries, Franklin, was second across the line in 1 hour 28 minutes, taking line honours for Division 1.

After handicapping the results in Division 1 were Trevor Kanaar (Invincible) 1st John Lawrence (Sas Sea) 2nd and Peter Marshall (Overture) 3rd. In Division 2 Trevor Smith (Relentless) was 1st with Denis Meredith (Wotalife)2nd and Paul Gooey (Matana)3rd.

The close racing throughout the Spring Series came to a climax when the series final points were tallied. In Division 1 both Alan Leach (Tranquillity) and Trevor Kanaar (Invincible)were tied for 1st place on 11 points. A countback system, where line honours in previous races were also counted, had to be implemented. After the countback Alan Leach was declared the winner.

Then in Division 2 Denis Meredith (Wotalife) and Trevor Smith (Relentless) were both tied in 1st place on 7 points. Again a countback had to be used and Trevor Smith was declared the winner.

It was a great days racing, with some close results, followed by the Commodores Cocktail Party that raised funds for Marine Rescue.