News‎ > ‎

JBCYC wins back the Creswell Cup

posted Mar 22, 2016, 4:04 AM by David Churchward

The Creswell Cup, held Saturday 12th March, was a great contest between JBCYC and the Navy. The Cup, held annually, is jointly organised by JBCYC and the Creswell/Albatross Sailing Club and is a major highlight of both clubs’ sailing calendar. All boats were allocated to either the Navy Team or the JBCYC Team in matched pairs according to their handicap rating. This match racing meant some JBCYC boats were allocated to represent the Navy and although allegiances were tested all boats contested the race in the spirit of true match racing.

Racing commenced at noon, with CO HMAS Creswell, Captain Steven Hussey starting the race on board the Navy Steber. The breeze throughout the day was fairly consistent with 7 to 10 knots from the north east. After starting at Creswell, the fleet tracked to Plantation Point, north to Myola Beach then across the Bay to Honeymoon Bay, then past Long Beach and home to Callala Bay. Great camaraderie was evident across the fleet and a superb day of sailing was enjoyed by all.

After holding the Cup for the previous 2 years, Navy relinquished it this year with JBCYC being victorious on the day winning 5 of the 7 ‘matches’. The presentation and a casual dinner followed at the Callala clubhouse with entertainment provided by a local band. This gave all sailors an opportunity to unwind, discuss the great day of racing and of course to party!

JBCYC extends a huge thank you to Brendan Blank, President of the Creswell/Albatross Sailing Club and all Navy personnel and JBCYC members who participated and for their support of this event. We all look forward to enjoying the Creswell Cup again next year.

The first race of the JBCYC Autumn series was concurrently held with the Creswell Cup. Division 1 winner on performance handicap was Sojourn 111 (Bavaria Vision 44, Rick Early) with Y-knot (Elliott 5.8, Steve Lee) coming second. Line honours went to After Midnight (Farr 40, Mark Tobin). Motion (Bounty 35, David Churchward) took both line honours and performance handicap in Division 2 with Wotalife (Endeavour 32, Dennis Meredith) taking second place on handicap. Xtasea (Seawind 1000, Jim Lay) had an outstanding race in Division 3 and was 1st on handicap and second across the line. Tranquility (Seawind 1000, Alan Leach), although 1st across the line was 2nd on handicap.