News‎ > ‎

JBCYC Christmas Race Day

posted Dec 22, 2020, 5:08 PM by David Churchward

The Jervis Bay Cruising Yacht Club ran their special Christmas race day on Saturday 12th December. A fleet of 12 yachts were entered for the days racing. The boats were all handicapped but ran in a single division. Two short races run on the same 6.8 nautical mile course, at the bay’s northern end. 

The first race was the annual Ladies Race, with female skippers taking the helm of the yachts. The start was staggered, with the slower yachts (having the larger handicaps) getting away first and the faster yachts having to work their way through the field chasing them.

Sirocco, that was frequently helmed by Pru Harper in the series races had an all-female for the first time and getting away 3 minutes after the start. Last years winner, Barb King in Tranquillity, had the largest handicap having to wait 15 minutes after the gun to start. 

The race got under way in brisk 17 knot south west winds, but they dropped away to nearly 2 knots in the middle of the race before strengthening to 7 knots near the end.

Carmel Edwards helming Invincible started 5th, with a 9-minute handicap. She fought her way past the other yachts crossing the line 1st and winning the race in 1 hour 15 minutes, less than 30 seconds ahead of Element, helmed by Cathy Chitterden in 2nd.

The forwards hands race was the chance for the long-suffering crew members to take the helm and skippers to have a turn manning the sheets. The smaller boats again started first in the staggered start, but they lost that advantage with a lack of wind leaving them floundering around the start line.

When the wind finally came in from the SE building to 12 knots the large yachts quickly took the lead. Daren Fry, helming Out of the Blue, started 3rd last but was able to work his way past the bulk of the fleet. In the races closing stages it became a duel between Friendship, Element and Out of the Blue. With Daren Fry (Out of the Blue) crossing 1st just 14 seconds ahead of the Friendship Navy entry. 

Once the times were adjusted Daren Fry held onto 1st place with Kieran Lomas (Sojourn3) 2nd and Glenn Armstrong (Friendship) dropped back to 3rd.

Glen Pead - Media Officer