News‎ > ‎

Contention ran high during the last race of the season!

posted Jul 12, 2012, 12:08 AM by Unknown user

Contention ran high during the last race of the season!


The last race of the Autumn Series saw eleven vessels milling in the calmer winds at race start just off Callala Bay. As this was also the last race in the Jervis Bay Cruising Yacht Club’s 2011-12 racing calendar, contention for podium places was taut.

With all three divisions starting simultaneously, an opportunity for some to practice dodging the start boat presented itself! However the fleet soon dispersed tacking to find the wind.

After rounding the port mark off Long Beach the fleet divided with Divisions 2 & 3 heading for Hare Bay. The five vessels of Division 1 undertook the longer course sailing further into Long Beach.

With light air on the early legs of the course, Skipper Jeremy Hutchins and crew sailed Eves Delight with grit and determination the entire race. 

Although appearing scattered at times, Fuzzy Logic, Pleasure IV and Jouisance grappled admirably with the wind and course in their efforts to secure a podium place in the series.

During the latter legs the wind picked up suiting the heavier naval vessel Alexander. The consistent determination of Skipper Richard (Bluey) Timms and his crew of seasoned sailors, paid dividends as Alexander claimed line honours, crossing the finish line minutes ahead of the Division 1 fleet.

However, skilful tactics and the prowess of the crew on board Eves Delight proved the force to be reckoned with as she claimed performance handicap win in Division 1.

The final results of this series were tallied and reveal Pleasure IV with skipper Steve McDonald, as the Autumn Series winner of Division 1.

Skipper Jeremy Hutchins and crew claim Division 1 performance handicap win in the last race of the autumn series


In Division 2 contention between Matana and Motion increased during the early legs with both vessels trimming sails to the lighter winds.

As the wind speed lifted in the latter legs, Motion, with skipper David Churchward and stoic crew, picked up the pace. She reached gracefully for the finish line and Division 2 line honours.

The consistent effort of skipper Paul Gooey and crew on board Matana during this series, enabled Matana to claim her well earned performance handicap win in Division 2.

After the race results were noted and handicaps taken into consideration, Rockhopper, with skipper Kenny Dryburgh were declared the Autumn Series winner of Division 2.

The three catamarans of Division 3 were on form, handling the course and limited wind superbly.

Skipper Allan Leach and key crew member, Peter Brown proved a formidable team onboard Tranquillity, rounding the marks and engaging the sails with grace and ease.


Motion from Division 2 and Tranquillity from Division 3 sail close quarters claiming line honours wins in their respective divisions.

Sea Change held a good wind line and Overture challenged Tranquility for the lead in the final leg.

Although close right up to the finish line, Tranquility did not stray from her course, taking line honours in Division 3.

Sea Change with skipper Brian Saunders proved a real contender as she claimed a performance handicap win in Division 3.

When the results for this series were counted, Tranquillity with skipper Allan Leach was acclaimed as Autumn Series winners for Division 3.

Our thanks to Bill Armstrong who whilst manning the start/finish boat with Vice Commodore Kenny Dryburgh, snapped glorious photographs of race start. The were ably assisted by Ron and Eileen from Moonshine.


The naval vessel Alexander runs ahead of the fleet claiming line honours win in Division 1


We commend Kelvin Hockey, of Creswell Sailing Club who skilfully, and single handed, manoeuvred a run-about with outboard motor to acquire the action shots taken as the fleet rounded the marks of the course!    

JBCYC committee would like to thank Adrian and Helen Mills of Revolution Sails; Jeremy and Irena Hutchins from Paper Bark Camp; John and Jenny Lawrence from Parkhaven Motor Lodge and Anthony James Byrnes of Jervis Bay Yachting for their continued support and patronage during the 2011-12 racing calendar.

Gratitude must be extended to our reigning Commodore Mark Tobin and the members of the JBCYC Committee whose efforts ensure that skippers and crew enjoy the challenge of a well run race and a hearty reception at post-race gatherings. 

JBCYC was formed in 1970 by a small group of yacht owners and sailing stalwarts who were keen to add a racing component to their cruising on the magnificent clear Jervis Bay waters. Since its formation the JBCYC has run an annual programme of Spring-Summer-Autumn mixed fleet races.

Incorporated into the calendar is a regular social component of post-race gatherings, bbq, raft-ups, Christmas function and our Annual Dinner and Presentation night which is coming up on 23rd June.

The 2011-12 season podium places in all divisions will be announced on this night and we are honoured to have as our guests the Mayor, Paul Greene and distinguished representatives of HMAS Creswell. 

Our 2012-13 racing calendar kicks off in September with the date of the first race of the spring series to be announced.

For more information regarding Jervis Bay Cruising Yacht Club, race results and our racing calendar please visit



Press release written by Jacqueline Ann on behalf of Jervis Bay Cruising Yacht Club.