News‎ > ‎

Brilliant Autumn Sailing

posted Mar 18, 2009, 6:16 PM by JBCYC Admin

by Meryl Simpson

A diamond morning greeted the 15 skippers and their crews who took part in the first race of the Paperbark Camp sponsored Autumn series and the 11th race of the Club Championship.

Gusty sou-westerly winds made for interesting sailing with variations from as little as 5 knots at times, to as much as 25 knots at others. Most boats got off well from the start but zealous, close sailing caused early separation of the fleet as yachts were pushed up and others forced into dirty air.

Tranquility, sailed by Alan Leach, rounded the first mark ahead of the Division 2 fleet and maintained this lead for the most part of the race, followed closely by the ever-present Sea Change, skippered by Brian Saunders. However, Sea Change made it's move on the spinnaker run from Vincentia across to Hare Bay after rounding our newest "mark" (a dingy with a red bucket inside)! Sea Change finished ahead by less then a minute, thereby taking out the Regatta handicap and relegating Tranquility, frustratingly, to second place over the line. It was the was the quietly lurking Teco, sailed single-handedly by one of our longest standing club members, Hubert Notter, who "sailed" away with the Performance handicap.

Denis Godfrey, in the trimaran, Wahoo finished almost 15 minutes ahead of the Division 1 fleet and so was unbeatable for both of the handicap wins. Steve Simpson in Dalliance continued his good form to take second in both handicaps, much to the chagrin of the commodore Tony Byrne on Arabesque, who no matter how hard he tries doesn't seem to be able to take a trick! Ron Kelly on Splinter made Dalliance nervous as he kept close and sailed well, looking really magnificent and dangerous as he skimmed by, as if under motor, with only his small, red kite. Terry Ford on Jouissance looked superb at times but failed in the luck department when it came to wind.

The usual after-race civilities were enjoyed by a good crowd with this week's presentation of results given by an eloquent Jamie Andrews. The ladies race winner was also announced and a photograph opportunity made for Wendy Gilberg and her fellow female yachties.
The final results are as follows:

Div. 1

RHS  1.Wahoo
PHS  1.Wahoo

Div. 2

RHS  1.Sea Change
        3. Rock Hopper
PHS  1.Teco
        2.Sea Change
        3.Aqua Gem