News‎ > ‎

A Wonderful Evening of Celebrations

posted Jun 20, 2009, 11:06 PM by JBCYC Admin
 by Meryl Simpson

Jervis Bay Cruising Yacht Club finalised it's season of racing with a dinner dance and presentation evening. Around 120 guests enjoyed the fabulous setting hosted by Scott at the Bewong River Retreat . Mitch's Catering provided a sumptuous feast and the band "Jive House" entertained us with music that roused us to dance the night away.

The focus of the evening, apart from the socialising, was the awarding of prizes to this year's winners. As a growing club we now have two divisions and therefore a more complex presentation ceremony that was ably handled by the Vice Commodore, Mark Tobin and Karen who assists him in his difficult job as handicapper. Short speeches were made by our esteemed ex-commodore Peter Dallaway as well as the current Commodore, Tony Byrne. We also had the pleasure of the Shoalhaven's Mayor, Mr Paul Green who shared some thoughts.

This year's prize giving included some additonal awards. Maggie and Trevor Joyce of Mariner Boating Holidays donated a gift pack of Wild Oats wines to the most enthusiastic sailor. This was taken out by Jim McDonald of the Navy sailing fleet. Helen and Adrian Mills of Revolution Sails also donated two sailing bags. These were won by two yachtsmen who suffered some sort of mishap during the season. Mark Tobin received one for losing gear overboard and the other went to Brian Saunders for running aground.

An enthusiastic team of Wendy Gilberg, Meryl Simpson, Ken Dryburgh and Jamie Andrews did a fantastic job of organising this year's function.

The winners are as follows:

Spring Series
Div. 1:  Jamie Andrews of Taste n Try
Div. 2:  Allan Leach of Tranquility

Summer Series
Div. 1: Steve Simpson of Dalliance
Div. 2: Brian Saunders of Sea Change

Autumn Series
Div. 1: Dave Bennett of Sapphire Dancer
Div. 2: Jim Lay of Aqua Gem

Round the Bay series
Div. 1: Steve Simpson of Dalliance
Div. 2: Brian Saunders of Sea Change

Short Offshore series
Div. 1: Tony Byrne of Arabesque
Div. 2: Brian Saunders of Sea Change

Yachtsman of the Year (based on regatta handicap results)
Div. 1: Mark Tobin of Cougar
Div. 2: Ken Dryburgh of Rockhopper

Cock of the Bay (most line honours wins)
Div. 1: Denis Godfrey of Wahoo
Div. 2: Brian Saunders of Sea Change

Forward Hand's race
Mitch Edwards of Arabesque

Ladies race
Wendy Gilberg of Rockhopper

Most Improved Sailor
Jim Lay of Aqua Gem